Homemade CheezIts


Well the other night I had this really weird dream where the bottom of my foot had like a hinge on it and it would flap open and you could see my bones and stuff, it was really crazy. So I had to go to the hospital and get it stitched up. Before I could do that I had to make CheezIts. So here I was with my hinge-y foot making cheezIts. After I woke up, I decided that I supposed to make them, it was a sign. So here it goes

Homemade CheezIts…

All you are going to need is………

8 or so ounces of Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese

1/2 stick unsalted butter, room temp

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon Salt

2 tablespoons cold water

Yep it is that simple.

First you shred your cheese with a cheese grater, you need 8 oz, I shredded a little bit more so I could eat it.

Next you take your shredded cheese and your half stick of butter and the salt and put them into your kitchen aid, or you can use a food processor. I dont have one anymore because I ruined it chopping up chalk for a photoshoot.

when you are done it should look like this

Next you slowly add the cup of flour into the cheese mixture. When you are done it will look all crumbly like this.

Now here is where I got a little skeptical, how is two tablespoons of water going to make a dough? Well it does, slowly add the water and it will magically turn into dough.

Now take this cheese dough stuff and make a flat ball and wrap it is saran wrap and put it in the fridge for an hour.

 

Well an hour seemed like forever so me and the kid took close up eyeball pictures while we waited. This part is optional. You can do whatever you want with this time.

After you wasted an hour, and preheated your oven to 375, divide the dough up and roll it out as flat as you can get it.

Try and cut this dough into perfect 1 inch squares. We tried this with the first batch, I didnt have a ruler but I had a comb with inch marks, so I used that for the first round, after that I just eyeballed it. I started using a knife, but that was inefficient, so I moved on to a pizza cutter. They got less and less square like as we went.

Also to keep an eye on the cat because she is pretending to type an email, but she is really plotting to move in and and steal the cheezIts right off the tray

So as you can see in the above photo, just lay them on a cookie sheet and poke a tiny hole in them with a tooth pick. I sprinkled a little salt on them because I love salt, you don’t have to if you don’t want to.  Put them in the preheated 375 degree oven for about 15 to 16 minutes.

When they are done, put them on a wire rack to cool.

Thats it…….

You have made CheezIts.

They really do taste like Cheezits, I wasn’t sure how they were going to turn out, I have to say they are pretty darn good.

2 thoughts on “Homemade CheezIts

  1. Pingback: BlackoutBlackoutBlackout always fun. « shadycatlady

  2. I LOVE Cheez-Its! Unfortunately I can’t get them over here and have to have family members send them over. In a way it’s a good thing; out of sight, out of mind. However, thanks for the recipe! I may try this with lower fat cheese and trans-fat free margarine. P.S. Love your kitty…we have three.

Leave a Reply

